Ep. #322 featuring Arjen Anthony Lucassen

Arjen Anthony LucassenThis week I’m stepping away from the featured album format to honor the man I’ve always considered to be the greatest songwriter in prog, Arjen Anthony Lucassen. Arjen’s repertoire includes Ayreon, Star One, Stream of Passion, Guilt Machine, The Gentle Storm, and his solo album.  Arjen is a multi-instrumentalist and composer who I consider to be one of the great storytellers in the genre. I’m not blind to criticisms of his work, and will happily admit that, yes, his lyrics are ridiculously cheesy at times. That said, in his story based works he can paint a clear picture, and engages the listener naturally into the story, something that cannot be said about a lot of concept albums. Add to that the often ornate instruments used in his recordings, the myriad of assembled talent he’s worked with, and every bit of prog hook that I love, and you have a winning formula.

Some, like Neal Morse, might be more prolific in the amount of material, and then you have the likes of Steven Wilson who may be more serious and enigmatic, but in many ways Arjen embodies the prog spirit, and has been a beacon of light to the genre since The Final Experiment came out in 1995. So this episode is dedicated to the Dutch legend, and self-proclaimed “Social Recluse”, Arjen Anthony Lucassen. Please visit his page here.

Australian band Teramaze made their debut on the program tonight, and we will have an interview with guitarist Dean Wells available for everyone later this week. Their new album Her Halo comes out on Friday, October 30th, and you can pre-order that here. While you wait check out the lead video from the album below!

Also making their debut on the program tonight was Mechanical Butterfly. You can listen to their last album, The Irresistible Gravity in full, and purchase it here. Finally, we have some live Pagan’s Mind on the horizon! The set is called Full Circle and is available here.

Fates Warning – One
Ayreon – Dreamtime
Flaming Row – First Day
Teramaze – Her Halo
Trivium – Silence in the Sorrow
Mechanical Butterfly – Labyrinth of Doors
Star One – Sandrider
Lord – Reborn
Pagan’s Mind – New World Order
Pineapple Thief – Snowdrops
Ayreon – School
The Winery Dogs – The Lamb
Nad Sylvan – Echoes of Ekwabet
Coheed and Cambria – Peace to the Mountain
IO Earth – Redemption
Anglagard – Langtans Klocka
The Gentle Storm – Shores of India (Gentle)
Stream of Passion – Wherever You Are~
Lonely Robot – God vs. Man
Steve Rothery Band – Kendris~
Guilt Machine – Over
Arjen Anthony Lucassen – Pink Beatles in a Purple Zeppelin
Steven Wilson – The Pin Drop
Sailing to Nowhere – Fallen Angel
Redemption – Another Day Dies
Ayreon – Epilogue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.